Prime Minister hosts reception for Teaching Awards winners


The Prime Minister, David Cameron, hosted a reception at Downing Street on 2 November for the winners of the 2011 Pearson Teaching Awards.

UK and regional winners from 2011and 2010 were invited to the event, along with celebrities who presented the Awards at the 30 October ceremony at London’s Palace Theatre.

Winners in eleven categories were chosen from 22,000 nominations submitted by members of the public. The Award for Special Needs Teacher of the Year went to Simon Roberts of Selworthy School, Somerset, while Debbie Withers of Wren Spinney Community Special School, Northamptonshire picked up the Henry Winkler Award for Special Needs.

The Awards ceremony was hosted by Lenny Henry, and celebrity presenters included Dame Vivienne Westwood, theatre director Sir Trevor Nunn, comedian Al Murray and Downton Abbey actress Elizabeth McGovern.

Speaking at the Downing Street event, the Prime Minister praised the efforts of the “thousands of hard-working and inspirational teachers” who had been nominated. “I heard some amazing stories of the passion these teachers bring to the classroom and their drive not just to teach but to make a real difference in their schools”, he said.


SEN News Team
Author: SEN News Team

+ posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here