The Disgusted Dragon


This book is one of a set of six based around ‘Finding Your Way,’ that have been created by Kay Brophy, a psychologist and creative
therapist who has specialised in working with children and families in schools for the last twenty years.

Each book is devoted to an exploration of one of six key emotions: sadness, fear, happiness, surprise, anger, disgust. The stories take place in ‘Lifeland’, a magical place, where colourful characters learn to work through their emotions with someone
they trust.

Each book includes a map of Lifeland, providing the locations of places such as ‘Forest of Fear’, ‘Anger Arches’ and ‘Station Surprise’, and this supports the adult with points for discussion about where on the map the character is located, and what it needs to do.

The books are lively and engaging and written in rhyme and it is clear that Brophy is passionate about supporting schools, parents and families to develop emotional well-being and with learning how to deal with emotions more effectively. She clearly explains the difference between emotions and feelings and how to encourage children to process their own
thoughts and memories.

A useful resource.

Author : K Brophy
Illustrator : K Boys
Middle Farm Press (Acorn)
ISBN: 978-0-9928896-7-8

Mary Mountstephen
Author: Mary Mountstephen

Book reviews

+ posts

Book reviews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here